KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

REGULAR (INAUGURAL) BOARD MEETING #1

The minutes of the Inaugural Regular Board Meeting of the Keewatin-Patricia District School Board Tuesday, November 12, 2024, In-person at New Prospect Public School, Dryden.

Call to Order The meeting was called to order at 7.01 pm.

Moment of Silence was observed for:

Remembrance Day Senator Murray Sinclair

Matthew Norlock

Land

Acknowledgement

Roll Call Denise Baxter *v* Steve Poling Marilyn Duncalfe

Roger Griffiths Gerald Kleist Teika Newton
Rory McMillan v Trayvon Mckay Regine Coloma v
Judi Green Indigenous Student Student Trustee

Trustee

Absent with Regret Norine Van Breda

Dave Penney David Cornish

Absent without Regret Nil

Officials C. Radbourne S. Hawkins v P. Agawa v R. Findlay v C. Moore D. Taylor

J. Marion S. Bailey Executive Assistant

Also Present Media, Staff, and the Interested Public

Item 4 - Agenda

Motion #01-25 Moved by: G. Kleist

Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THAT the agenda for the Inaugural Board Meeting of November 12, 2024, be approved, as amended.

- 13.02 C will be B.

- 13.02 delete (xiii), (xiv), (xv) covered by previous

motion in June 2024

Carried

Item 5 Conflict of Interest

None

Item 6 6.01 Appointment of Scrutineers

Motion #02-25 Moved by: D. Baxter

Seconded by: J. Green

THAT the Superintendent of Education, Shannon Bailey, and the Superintendent of Education, Chantal Moore, be designated as Scrutineers, if required, in the selection process of the offices of the Chair and Vice-Chair for the

Keewatin Patricia District School Board.

Carried

Item 7 Call for Nominations for Chair of the Board

First Call: J. Green nominated Roger Griffiths

Seconded by: G. Kleist

No other nominations for Chair of the Board

Motion #03-25 Moved by: S. Poling

Seconded by: D. Baxter

THAT the nominations for the position of Chair of the

Board be closed.

Carried

Item 8 Chair of the Board Remarks

Roger Griffiths affirmed he would accept the position of

Chair of the Board

Item 9 Nominations for Vice-Chair of the Board

First Call: M. Duncalfe nominated Judi Green

Seconded by: D. Baxter.

No other nominations for Vice-Chair of the Board

Motion #04-25 Moved by: G. Kleist

Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THAT the nominations for the position of the Vice Chair of

the Board be closed.

Carried

Item 10 Vice-Chair of the Board Remarks

Judi Green affirmed she would accept the position of Vice-

Chair of the Board.

Carried

Item 12 Confirmation of Minutes **Motion #05-25** Moved by: J. Green

Seconded by: S. Poling

THAT the minutes of the Regular Board meeting of October 8, 2024, having been duly circulated, be

confirmed.

Carried

Item 13 Presentation of Reports

13.01 A

Motion #06-25 Moved by: J. Green

Seconded by: G. Kleist

THAT the Math Achievement and Action Plan be received.

Carried

13.01 B

Motion #07-25 Moved by: D. Baxter

Seconded by: T. Newton

THAT the 2024-2025 Board Student Achievement Plan be

received.

Carried

13.02 C

Motion #08-25 Moved by: M. Duncalfe

Seconded by: G. Kleist

THAT the verbal report on the Trustee Appointments to

Committees, for a one-year-term, be received.

Carried

Motion #09-25 Moved by: T. Newton

Seconded by: J. Green

THAT Dave Penney be appointed to the Executive Committee for the period November 13, 2024 to April 15, 2025, and that Marilyn Duncalfe be appointed to the Executive Committee for the period of April 29, 2025 to

November 4, 2025.

Carried

Motion #10-25 Moved by: D. Baxter

Seconded by: R. McMillan

THAT Steve Poling be appointed to the Trustee Code of Conduct Committee, and that Dave Penney be appointed

as the Alternate to the Trustee Code of Conduct

Committee.

Carried

Motion #11-25 Moved by: T. Newton

Seconded by: R. McMillan

THAT David Cornish, Marilyn Duncalfe, and Gerald Kleist

be appointed to the Audit and Finance Committees.

Carried

Motion #12-25 Moved by: T. Newton

Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THAT Denise Baxter, Steve Poling and Rory McMillan be

appointed to the Indigenous Education Advisory

Committee (IEAC).

Carried

Motion #13-25 Moved by: S. Poling

Seconded by: J. Green

THAT Gerald Kleist, Teika Newton and Norine Van Breda be appointed to the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC), and that Denise Baxter be appointed as the Alternate to the Special Education Advisory Committee

(SEAC).

Carried

Motion #14-25 Moved by: D. Baxter

Seconded by: R. McMillan

THAT Norine Van Breda and Marilyn Duncalfe be

appointed to the Early Years Advisory Committee (EYAC).

Carried

Motion #15-25 Moved by: G. Kleist

Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THAT Teika Newton and Judi Green be appointed to the

Parent Involvement Committee (PIC).

Carried

Motion #16-25 Moved by: M. Duncalfe

Seconded by: S. Poling

THAT Judi Green be appointed to the Supervised Alternative Learning Committee (SAL), and that Roger Griffiths be appointed as the Alternate to the Supervised

Alternative Learning Committee (SAL).

Carried

Motion #17-25 Moved by: G. Kleist

Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THAT Dave Penny be appointed to the Transportation Policy Committee, and that Judi Green be appointed as the

Alternate to the Transportation Policy Committee.

Business Arising from Committee of the Whole

13.03 A

Motion #18-25 Moved by: D. Baxter

Seconded by: T. Newton

THAT Policy #704 Non-Union Staff Terms and Conditions

be received.

Carried

Motion #19-25 Moved by: R. McMillan

Seconded by: G. Kleist

THAT Policy #704 Non-Union Staff Terms and Conditions

be rescinded.

Carried

13.03 B

Motion #20-25 Moved by: S. Poling

Seconded by: J. Green

THAT Policy #707 Retirement of Employees be rescinded.

Carried

13.04 Finance/Audit - Nil

13.05 Human Resources - Nil

13.06 Operations - Nill

Committee Updates

13.07 D

Motion #21-25 Moved By: R. McMillan

Seconded by: S. Poling

THAT the Indigenous Education Advisory Committee (IEAC) report of the October 2, 2024 meeting be received.

Carried

13.07 F

Motion #22-25 Moved by: D. Baxter

Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THAT the Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) report of

the October 21, 2024 meeting be received.

Carried

13.07 H

Motion #23-25 Moved by: G. Kleist

Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THAT the Supervised Alternative Learning Committee

(SAL) verbal report be received.

Carried

Item 14 Director of Education Report

Motion #24-25 Moved by: J. Green

Seconded by: D. Baxter

THAT the Director of Education report be received.

Carried

Item 15 Correspondence - Nil

Item 16 New Business

16.01

Motion #25-25 Moved by: J. Green

Seconded by: S. Poling

THAT the Lead by Example verbal report on cell phones

be received.

Carried

Item 17

Item 18 Adjournment

Motion #26-25 Observer comments – Nil

Moved by: R. McMillan Seconded by: G. Kleist

THAT the Inaugural Board Meeting of November 12, 2024

adjourn at 8:57 p.m.

KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD **REGULAR BOARD MEETING** November 12, 2024

Carried

December 10, 2024

Date Chair, R. Griffiths

December 10, 2024 Mrs. R. R. Date Secretary, C. Badbourne